Diabetic retinopathy

Заболевания. Диабетическая ретинопатия.

By 2020, up to 415 million people worldwide will suffer from diabetic retinopathy.

Diabetic retinopathy
Diabetic retinopathy is a medical condition in people with diabetes mellitus that leads to full blindness. This state develops at type I and type II diabetes because of the increased eye angiasthenia.
In case of diabetes changes in the vessels begin to occur after 5-10 years from the beginning of the disease; more than 85% of patients suffer from retinopathy after 10-15 years. This state is dangerous because of a probable retinal bleeding, eye-ball bleeding or retinal edema leading to a significant loss of vision acuity and blindness.

Diagnostic of diabetic retinopathy

Patients who are on the initial stages of diabetic rethinopathy often don’t feel any changes in their eyes. They can periodically experience blurring of vision, see a blurry picture with floaters. Vision acuity decreases only in case of the significant changes of eye fundus.

We recommend to start visiting ophthalmologist not more than after 2-3 years from the moment when diabetes mellitus is diagnosed – this will help to prevent the disease and arrange proper treatment. The visit at ophthalmologist includes visual acuity check, measurement of intraocular pressure, ophthalmic fundus examination with Goldman lens and optical coherence tomography.

Shall no diabetic retinopathy be registered the next checkups are to be done at least once in a year. Shall any signs of the disease become evident visit your ophthalmologist once in six months or more often.

Shall diabetic retinopathy develop - we can help you stop it.

Treatment of diabetic retinopathy

We treat our patients with diabetic retinopathy in a complex manner while we work not only on the level of ophthalmologists but also other specialists.

Methods that we apply:

  1. Conservative therapy
    Conservative therapy (normalization of blood sugar level, blood pressure, cholesterol level and triglycerides). This helps to compensate diabetes mellitus and minimize any possible complications.
  2. Intravitreous introduction of drugs
    In case of neovasculature events we use intravitreous introduction of drugs. It helps to reduce the quantity of such vessels thus reducing their fragility and possibility of hemorrhage.
  3. Laser photocoagulation of the retina
    If there are hemorrhages in the retina we conduct laser photocoagulation of the retina which allows decreasing of the progression of diabetic retinopathy.
  4. Elimination of “floaters” (opacity)
    Patients with diabetes mellitus often complain about floating opacities in the form of “flies”, strings or dots. We recommend laser vitreolysis to remove this effect.

Many years of our experience in ophthalmology let us perform assessment and effective treatment of patients with diabetes mellitus together with endocrinologists, diabetic foot specialists, neurologist, cardiologist, nephrologist.

In case of complicated forms of diabetes mellitus there is a growing risk of lower limb amputation. Therefore we recommend yearly appointments with doctors for patients having diabetes mellitus to assess risk of the development of diabetic foot and decrease the amputation risks. The doctor specializing on complications from the side of lower limbs of patients with diabetes mellitus is called podiatrist.

In case of diabetes mellitus high levels of blood sugar negatively affect nerve tissue in the whole body therefore it is very important to get assessment of the neurologists.

Also, if necessary, your endocrinologist will give you advice to visit nephrologyst and cardiologist to ensure a timely prevention of complications associated with heart and lungs.


Best regards, the team of Yasny Vzor pediatric eye clinics

Диабетическая ретинопатия

Заболевания. Диабетическая ретинопатия.
Диабетическая ретинопатия

Диабетическая ретинопатия – сосудистое осложнение сахарного диабета, которое приводит к полной слепоте. Это состояние развивается как при сахарном диабете первого типа, так и второго типа из-за повышенной ломкости сосудов глаза.

Изменения сосудов при сахарном диабете начинают возникать через 5-10 лет от начала заболевания, через 10-15 лет более 85% пациентов страдают ретинопатией. Опасность данного состояния заключается в возможности кровоизлияния в сетчатку и полость глазного яблока, отеке сетчатки, что приводит к выраженному понижению остроты зрения и слепоте.

Диагностика диабетической ретинопатии

Очень часто пациент с начальными стадиями диабетической ретинопатии не чувствует никаких изменений со стороны глаз. Может возникать периодическое затуманивание зрения, появление помутнений в виде «мушек» перед глазами. Только при выраженных изменениях со стороны глазного дна появится снижение остроты зрения.

Для своевременного выявления заболевания и проведения эффективного лечения диабетической ретинопатии мы рекомендуем проходить осмотр офтальмолога не более чем через 2-3 года с момента установления диагноза диабета. Осмотр у офтальмолога включает в себя проверку остроты зрения, измерение внутриглазного давления, исследование глазного дна линзой Гольдмана, проведение оптической когерентной томографии.

Далее при отсутствии диабетической ретинопатии обследование проводят не реже одного раза в год. При наличии признаков заболевания – раз в полгода, а при необходимости и чаще.

Если все-таки диабетическая ретинопатия развивается, то сегодня у нас есть возможность её остановить.

Лечение диабетической ретинопатии

Мы лечим пациентов с диабетической ретинопатией комплексно, привлекая не только офтальмологов, но и других специалистов.

Применяемые нами методики:

  1. Консервативное лечение
    Консервативное лечение (нормализация уровня сахара в крови, артериального давления, уровня холестерина, триглицеридов). Это позволяет компенсировать сахарный диабет и минимизировать любые возможные осложнения.
  2. Интравитреальное введение препаратов
    При наличии новообразованных сосудов мы применяем интравитреальное введение препаратов для уменьшения их количества, а, следовательно, их ломкости и возможности кровоизлияния.
  3. Лазеркоагуляция сетчатки
    При наличии кровоизлияний сетчатки мы проводим лазеркоагуляцию сетчатки, что также позволяет уменьшить прогрессирование диабетической ретинопатии.
  4. У пациентов с сахарным диабетом часто бывают жалобы на плавающие помутнения перед глазами в виде «мушек», нитей, точек. С целью устранения этих жалоб мы рекомендуем провести лазерный витреолизис.

Многолетний опыт, накопленный нами в офтальмологии, позволяет проводить наблюдение и эффективное лечение пациентов с сахарным диабетом совместно с эндокринологом, подотерапевтом, неврологом, кардиологом, нефрологом.

При осложненных формах сахарного диабета у пациентов возрастает риск ампутации нижней конечности.   Поэтому пациентам с сахарным диабетом мы рекомендуем ежегодно обследоваться у специалиста для выявления риска развития диабетической стопы и снижения числа и объема ампутаций. Врач, который специализируется на выявлении осложнений со стороны ног у пациентов с сахарным диабетом, называется подотерапевт.

При сахарном диабете повышенное содержание сахара в крови повреждает нервные волокна во всем организме, поэтому так важно посещать невролога.

Также при необходимости наш эндокринолог посоветует вам посещение нефролога и кардиолога, для своевременной профилактики осложнений сахарного диабета, связанных с сердцем и почками.


С уважением,
команда специалистов
детских глазных клиник "Ясный взор"